Looking Back at Post a Day Challenge 2011 meme…

I am looking back at Post a Day Challenge 2011 as the end of 2011 is fast approaching.  Many of us are taking stock of the past years accomplishments and challenges.  I have been thinking about my January 2011 commitment to the post a week challenge.  Then the good folks over at The Daily Post offered up a post to help evaluate 2011 blogging and 2012 goals.

Here are the 11 Questions from the Daily Post to help break things down to bite size pieces.  I turned it into my first meme.  It took me all year to figure that one out.  Oh well, better late than not at all…Right? Right!

  • Why did you start the Post a Day/Week Challenge?

I began the Post a Week Challenge strictly as a way to stay focused on blogging.  I had been blogging for just less than a year and I wasn’t very consistent. 

  • Describe the state of your blog at the time you started the challenge.

In December of 2010 I was averaging 3 posts per week, 21 daily views, 9 total comments for the entire month, half of which were from my family. 

  • How did your blog evolve over the course of the challenge?

I can honestly say that my blog blossomed through the Post a Week Challenge.  I quickly met other bloggers who were committed to supporting bloggers involved in the challenge.  Their comments were supportive and encouraging!  My blog has quadrupled in followers and views.

  • Did you post as often as you had hoped? Why or why not?

I signed up for the Post a Week Challenge but found myself posting on an average of 5 days per week.  There was an incredible amount of encouraging and creative ideas being shared by bloggers that helped to keep the creativity flowing.

  • What type of blogging strategy works best for you?

I found that mixing up the type of posts helped to keep things fresh and interesting.  I participated in the Weekly Photo Challenge, the 30 day A-Z Challenge and Wordless Wednesday in addition to my general blogging topics.

  • If you could go back to the beginning, what would you do differently?

I definitely would have given more thought to the name of my blog.  Originally it was just “Jeanne’s Blog”.  I added nolagirlatheart later on and it really has become my blog name. 

  • What are you most proud of accomplishing this year?

The WordPress Challenge helped me find my voice and rekindle a passion that was smoldering under the surface.  I am a writer!  Even if it is only in my own mind.

  • Name 3 great blogs you discovered through the challenge.

NOLA Details  Carla takes me on a tour of New Orleans neighborhoods through her snapshots.  She loves New Orleans as much as I do.  This blog is always colorful and fun just like my beloved NOLA!

Incredible Lightness of Seeing Teresita hosts an incredibly beautiful photoblog.  Her posts are always beautiful with a dose of inspiration and a sprinkling of daily gratitude.  This blog is a quiet peaceful place in a world of noise and confusion.

This Man’s Journey This blog is the path of a man whose past has carried him to his present on the way to his future.  He loves his family and he has a unique way of sharing the depth of love in his heart while respecting the privacy of his sweet family.  I am always amazed at the thoughtfulness of his posts as well as the way he uses his photos to give us a glimpse of all that is his life.   

  • What surprised you about the challenge?

It was much easier to “just write” than I thought it was going to be.  When my creativity waned I found inspiration in the simple everyday experiences.  Especially the weekly photo challenge.  It became a game for me to find ways to think outside of the box when interpreting the weekly topic. 

  • What advice would you give to others who want to blog regularly?

Make a commitment!  Be consistent!  Just write!

  • What are your blogging goals for 2012?

I am hoping to figure that one out very soon.  I am considering committing to 3 or 4 focused weekly segments.  One being a photo from the same place, day and time of the week for 52 weeks.  I am also considering a weekly post highlighting a vintage find from my junking adventures.  I haven’t figured the rest of it out just yet.  I am hoping to find inspiration from the same place I have found it this past year…from my blogging buddies!

That’s my look back at the Post a Day Challenge 2011…How did you do?

15 Comments

Filed under postaweek2011, Thoughts on Blogging

15 responses to “Looking Back at Post a Day Challenge 2011 meme…

  1. You’ve come a long way, baby! 😀

    I love your ideas for the coming year . . . write on!

  2. Congrats to your accomplishment. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Looking Back at Post a Day 2011 — How’d You Do? « Post A Day 2011 | Wordpress Challenge

  4. I enjoyed your share. Thanks!

  5. I think the fact that you’ve taken time to do this reflection is awesome. You have really grown and obviously will continue to do so.

  6. I have been curious where the nola came from and what it means. All I know is that Nola was my grandmother’s name.

    I agree with your description of The Island Traveler’s blog “This Man’s Journey”. His blog is one worth following! His posts are touching, full of love and appreciation to the little things in life. I am often teary or crying by the end of some of his posts!

    Good luck this year with your new focus. I look forward to seeing what you come up with. I am almost done with my 52 weeks of my version of Project 365. I am not sure how or what I will title this next year’s weekly posts.

    • Jenny, NOLA is the pet name give to New Orleans, Louisiana by the locals. The city has many nicknames but this one encompasses the entire city. I am still looking for a bit of inspiration for my blog before jumping off into 2012. Consistency and sticktuitviveness takes a bit more effort for this girl that has the attention span of a golden retriever. LOL!

  7. You have come a long way over the past year Jeanne, and it’s good to look back as you have and put it down on paper (so to speak), so you can see both your personal growth and your blog’s growth . . . and grow you have!
    I feel very proud of you and what you have achieved, and look forward to following of your ideas for 2012.

    • Barb, thanks for your encouraging words. It has been an incredible year in so many ways. I have enjoyed growing friendships through the world of blogging. Thanks for being there for me. Wishing you a joyful New Year!

  8. I’m fairly new to your blog, but it sounds like you’ve made great strides in your blog. I’m excited to read what you have in store next year!

  9. Pingback: 2011 – the year that was… « aRVee

  10. Pingback: Looking Back at Post a Day 2011 — How’d You Do? Part 2 « Simply Charming

  11. Good for you. I loved the daily challenge… even with the hiccups. 😉

Leave a Reply

