You Inspired Me…to change

You inspired me to change…my blog layout.

I think it is great that WordPress gives bloggers the opportunity to choose from so many great free layouts.  This past year my blog layout included the option of  a custom header.  I chose to highlight my beautiful companions, Ripley and Chloe.  I loved the pretty pink background that framed my rants and raves.  Viewing my blog was like going to my happy place.

I have heard it said by someone I respect…if we are not changing and growing we are dying.  So in order to prolong the life of this blog I began to think about shaking things up.  I thought a new blog look for 2012 would be a good place to start.

I wanted my blog to have a fresh clean uncluttered feel.  I knew choosing a new layout would take time and energy.  Hours of searching and test runs.  I thought it would be a long process.   Then inspiration struck like lightning!

This week I linked a related article suggested by WordPress to my Suncreek Garden Chronicles post. When I clicked over to make sure the suggested post was indeed a relatable article I was smitten.  When is the last time you were smitten, or have you ever been smitten.  Anyhoo…. I immediately thought how much I liked the look of the  layout.  Then I spent a little time absorbing the feel of the blog.

The blog I visited is hosted by Bridget @  arignagardener.  I liked that I could see her 3 most recent posts at a glance.  The layout had a clean contemporary feel.   My immediate attraction to her blog page could also have had something to do with her recent posts.  They were very similar to my own.  There was this one on her garden.  Then there was this one on Welly Boots.  And then there was this one on Seasonal Recipes.

So here’s to Bridget and her awesome blog postings and layout…Arignagardener for inspiring me…to change!

Have you changed your blog layout for the new year?  I would like to hear what inspired you to make the change.

The layout is called DePo Masthead by Automatic and it’s FREE!

Related articles

15 Comments

Filed under Thoughts on Blogging, You Inspired Me

15 responses to “You Inspired Me…to change

  1. Glad your change was so “inspired” and “easy.”

    I haven’t changed my blog layout . . . ever.
    I like it exactly as it is.
    I won’t change it unless I see a theme I like better.

  2. Like the new look. I’ll have to pop over to bridget’s blog to check out her garden. What IS it with the word “smitten”–I think it’s a feel-good word!

  3. “Viewing my blog was like going to my happy place.” I totally agree.
    Change is a beautiful thing. It inspires and motivates us to be better in all things. It gives us this feeling renewal and fresh start. A great way to start the bright possibilities of 2012.

    • I am so thankful for new beginnings. One of my favorite Bible verses…

      Lamentations 3:21-23 (NASB) This I recall to my mind, Therefore I have hope.
      The LORD’S lovingkindnesses indeed never cease,
      For His compassions never fail.
      They are new every morning;
      Great is Your faithfulness.

      Be Blessed my Friend! enJOY today!

  4. hi Jeanne,
    this design
    looks very fine!

  5. I’m with you. . .I love playing with the layout and switching – at least once a year. I really like where I am right now, but occasionally I will cast a glance at some of the other free themes. I’ve even considered changing one or two of my pages into different blogs, just so I can play with different themes, and still keep RFACM where it is now.

    Can’t say what inspires me – just a desire to shake things up! I do have certain requirements for my blog theme, however. There has to be unlimited room for widgets, a custom header feature, and a variable width, etc. A few others that I’ve forgotten about, but when I change I realize and remember what they are!

    Good post, great theme, wonderful blog!

  6. This change looks nice and I will check out Bridget’s layout. It does sound interesting.

    I haven’t changed mine since I started last year. You are making me consider it. I doubt that it will happen. I had a difficult time getting started and making those setup decisions and I like to keep things the same. I will be changing my weekly post title to something different, which I need to decide on TODAY!

  7. I like your blog layout. I changed mine once and lost some of my widgets, etc. and couldn’t figure out how to reconstruct all my earlier choices and put them on my new layout. I got so confused, I nearly had a blogging breakdown and ran to the phone to be rescued by my daughter, My Pajama Days, who got me started on this blogging business in the first place. I’m too afraid to try again unless someone I. The know is sitting right next to me. How far away do you live?

    • I thought you might be Emily’s Mom based on a comment she made on one of your postings. Emily has a special place in my heart…she was one of the very first bloggers I followed. I think if Emily and I were neighbors we would be great friends. I am looking forward to getting to know you as well. enJOY your day!!!

  8. The first thing I noticed when I cam to your site was that I loved the clean, organized layout.

  9. I love your new template… Clean and bright! 😉

Leave a Reply

