You Inspired Me…To Compile My 2012 Reading List

You inspired me...

I love reading a good book!!!   I love the anticipation of a new book and what I might find as I turn each page.  I enjoy getting to know the characters and the lay of the land.  My favorite books are the ones where the Author introduces me to new friends and places.  I love the feel of the next page laying against my finger. It is much like anticipating the next bite of a wonderfully and carefully prepared desset.   When the book is a real page turner…turning the last page is bitter sweet…and leaves me reaching for the next book in the stack! 

While catching up on everyone’s posts this past week I was inspired by Gail at Moonlight Reflections to do one of those things that I do when the New Year rolls around…compile my reading list for the coming year.  Her 2012 reading list includes one book that was recently recommended by a good friend and one that I am currently reading.  Gail’s list is a good mixture of fiction and non-fiction. 

 I would like my list to include the following;

  • A book of short stories
  • One of the Classics
  • One non-fiction, possibly a memoir
  • Something I would be embarrassed to admit I am reading
  • A New York Times bestseller hot fiction book by an author I have never heard of
  • A children’s chapter book

I would love to have your recommendations.  Maybe you can share a couple of your favorite books that fit into this list.  Or just your most recent favorite read or your all time favorite woud be a nice addition as well.

On the off-chance that you have not seen the web sensation video of the dancing books I am sharing it again.  Did I mention I love a good book? I hope you will inspire me…to compile my 2012 reading list with a few of your recommendations.  

18 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

18 responses to “You Inspired Me…To Compile My 2012 Reading List

  1. For children’s I can recommend The BFG, Charlotte’s Web, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory or Abel’s Island.

    For classics, Alice in Wonderland, Frankenstein, Jane Eyre.

    An author you haven’t heard of: if you like romance you could try Sharon Sala (romantic suspense) Otherwise I, myself am about to start reading “Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close” by Jonathan Safran Foer. Not sure if you have heard of him, but I haven’t. I heard the book was very good (and the movie releases Friday).

    Happy Reading!

    • Delila,
      Thank you for the wonderful suggestions. I am compiling a list for the list…up for consideration are Abel’s Island, Jane Eyre and Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close. enJOY today!

  2. My son is in 4th grade, and he likes Mary Downing Hahn (for children’s chapter books). He’s read Ghost of Crutchfield Hall and Closed for the Season. Based on the book jacket descriptions, her stories are suspense/mystery and my son likes the ghost aspect!

    As for what I read….I really liked Shape of Mercy by Susan Meissner. I also enjoyed her book Lady in Waiting.

    Good luck compiling your list. I’ll be curious to see what you choose. (It might even help me find new books to read :))

  3. Some of my favorites ~ Sense and Sensibility, Pride and Prejudice, Gulliver’s Travels, Alice in Wonderland, Mary Poppins, To Kill A Mockingbird, The Moonstone

    Biographies ~ Agatha Christie, Michaelangelo

    For more ideas:
    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/12/05/100-books/

  4. A book of short stories – definitely a collection by Alice Munro
    One of the Classics – I’m with Nancy on Pride and Prejudice
    One non-fiction, possibly a memoir – Glass Castles
    Something I would be embarrassed to admit I am reading – something by Anais Nin
    A New York Times bestseller hot fiction book by an author I have never heard of – Spelling Bee
    A children’s chapter book – The Phantom Tollbooth

  5. Awwww….. Thanks! I’m glad I inspired you! I agree with all of Delila’s children’s book suggestions. I loved “The BFG”– a great little book! Another suggestion is “Trumpet of the Swan” by E.B. White.

    Don’t know if you have read “The Help”. I’ve moved it way up my list as one of my all time favorite books! Also, a memoir a dear friend of mine recommended to me that she and her family really liked is “Heart in the Right Place” by Carolyn Jourdan.

    Happy Reading!!!!

  6. I am enjoying the comments and your post. I don’t know that I have any good recommendations for you. This is a post I did last March with lists of my favorite books.

    http://skiingmama.wordpress.com/2011/03/23/my-favorite-books/

    Happy reading!

  7. Pingback: What’s on Your Reading List? | Sonia G Medeiros

  8. Pingback: Reading Lists. | Eat, Sleep, Procrastinate

  9. I’ll think of something to share. I read a lot of foreign authors and books written in other countries… 🙂

  10. Raj

    For classics you may pick up “To The Lighthouse” by Virginia Woolf. One of the most important modernist novels.

    You said you’d like to read a non-fiction work, possibly a memoir, and I think Orhan Pamuk’s “Istanbul: Memories and the City” would be a great choice. Pamuk is one of the great living authors. Some of his novels I’ve read so far, and liked are My Name is Red, The Museum of Innocence, Snow and The Black Book. For the record, he won the Nobel Prize in 2006.

    Then you said you’d like to read “Something I would be embarrassed to admit I am reading”, and I’d recommend Vladimir Nabokov’s classic novel “Lolita”. A very enjoyable read, with myriad of great literary devices.

    Have a good reading time!

    • Raj, Thanks for the wonderful recommendations. I am going to have a great time rummaging through the gently used bookstores and the library for my growing 2012 reading list. Oh and think of the pics I can grab while I am there. enJOY today!

  11. Pingback: You Inspired Me…To Read! « jeanne's blog…a nola girl at heart

Leave a Reply

