You Inspired Me…To Read!

Not too long ago I was inspired by Gail at Moonlight Reflections …to compile my 2012 reading list.  I asked for personal recommendations that fit into a list of categories that I think make for a well-rounded reading list.  Of course I did not list every category you find scattered throughout the  local bookstore.  Which by the way is becoming harder and harder to find…with on line books and e-readers replacing the printed word.  The local brick and mortar bookstores are a dying breed and it saddens me.   I could spend an entire afternoon wandering the aisles of an over stuffed new or used bookstore.  Only allowing my eye to drift from the myriad of books in search of one of those comfy well-worn highly coveted chairs tucked here and there so I can spend an hour or two lost in a good read.  

I received some very thoughtful reply’s to my request. Which in turn sent me off to the local library in search of the literary recommendations.  We live in a small community with an even smaller library.  Although I have access to approximately 6 separate city libraries within our county, the selections are limited.  I have decided if the library has the book available…well then, we have a winner.  Somehow leaving my reading list to circumchance…

Of course the list is far from complete.  I am looking forward to recieving additional  recommendations throughout the year.  Which will be reason enough to plan an afternoon lost in the racks…

I would like to thank each of you for taking the time to read my post and thoughtfully consider your recommendations. The blogging community is just that a living thriving bustling interactive place where real people connect, inspire and encourage one another. 

You have inspired me…to read!!!  Watch out this girl has a library card and she is going to use it!

Delila at Be the Change leave the Cave recommended…

For children’s I can recommend The BFG, Charlotte’s Web, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory or Abel’s Island.

For classics, Alice in Wonderland, Frankenstein, Jane Eyre.

An author you haven’t heard of: if you like romance you could try Sharon Sala (romantic suspense) Otherwise I, myself am about to start reading “Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close” by Jonathan Safran Foer. Not sure if you have heard of him, but I haven’t. I heard the book was very good (and the movie releases Friday).

Happy Reading!

JannaTwrites recommended…

My son is in 4th grade, and he likes Mary Downing Hahn (for children’s chapter books). He’s read Ghost of Crutchfield Hall and Closed for the Season. Based on the book jacket descriptions, her stories are suspense/mystery and my son likes the ghost aspect!

As for what I read….I really liked Shape of Mercy by Susan Meissner. I also enjoyed her book Lady in Waiting.

Good luck compiling your list. I’ll be curious to see what you choose. (It might even help me find new books to read :) )

Nancy at Spirit Lights the Way recommended…

Some of my favorites ~ Sense and Sensibility, Pride and Prejudice, Gulliver’s Travels, Alice in Wonderland, Mary Poppins, To Kill A Mockingbird, The Moonstone

Biographies ~ Agatha Christie, Michaelangelo

For more ideas:
http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/12/05/100-books/

Tammy at Agrigirl’s Blog recommended…

A book of short stories – definitely a collection by Alice Munro
One of the Classics – I’m with Nancy on Pride and Prejudice
One non-fiction, possibly a memoir – Glass Castles
Something I would be embarrassed to admit I am reading – something by Anais Nin
A New York Times bestseller hot fiction book by an author I have never heard of – Spelling Bee
A children’s chapter book – The Phantom Tollbooth

Even Gail at Moonlight Reflections my original source of inspiration stopped by and left a few suggestions of her own…

Awwww….. Thanks! I’m glad I inspired you! I agree with all of Delila’s children’s book suggestions. I loved “The BFG”– a great little book! Another suggestion is “Trumpet of the Swan” by E.B. White.

Don’t know if you have read “The Help”. I’ve moved it way up my list as one of my all time favorite books! Also, a memoir a dear friend of mine recommended to me that she and her family really liked is “Heart in the Right Place” by Carolyn Jourdan.

Happy Reading!!!!

Jenny at Skiingmama left a link to her list of favorite books…

I am enjoying the comments and your post. I don’t know that I have any good recommendations for you. This is a post I did last March with lists of my favorite books.

http://skiingmama.wordpress.com/2011/03/23/my-favorite-books/

Happy reading!

And then Raj stopped by and left his recommendations…

For classics you may pick up “To The Lighthouse” by Virginia Woolf. One of the most important modernist novels.

You said you’d like to read a non-fiction work, possibly a memoir, and I think Orhan Pamuk’s “Istanbul: Memories and the City” would be a great choice. Pamuk is one of the great living authors. Some of his novels I’ve read so far, and liked are My Name is Red, The Museum of Innocence, Snow and The Black Book. For the record, he won the Nobel Prize in 2006.

Then you said you’d like to read “Something I would be embarrassed to admit I am reading”, and I’d recommend Vladimir Nabokov’s classic novel “Lolita”. A very enjoyable read, with myriad of great literary devices.

Have a good reading time!

9 Comments

Filed under You Inspired Me

9 responses to “You Inspired Me…To Read!

  1. u arent gona get ny time to post on ur blog if u read so much.. 😉

  2. Another non-fiction recommendation:

    The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks ~ http://rebeccaskloot.com/the-immortal-life/

  3. That’s quite a list you’ve got goint! If you find time to read all of these recommendations, can you please share your secret? I’d love to know 🙂

  4. Enjoy your readings! Good for the mind… 🙂

  5. To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf is one of my all time favorites. Dapper G and I are avid readers, so I’ll be more than happy to share! Have you ever read Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame? There are so many life lessons to be learned from that children’s book. I just finished A Girl’s Guide to Hunting and Fishing by Melissa Bank–it was quite hilarious. I often read trade books and will be glad to share on my blog. So stay posted!

    • I am currently readin “To the Lighthouse”…I love your suggestions, especially “A Girl’s Guide to Hunting and Fishing”. I could use hilarious right about now.

  6. You have a great list to get you started. Happy reading! 🙂

    I, too, am saddened that the independent bookstores may end up extinct due to e-readers. My favorite place to spend time is in a big, rambling bookstore where I can get lost in the stacks of books.

    If you haven’t read them, two of my favorite children’s chapter books are “The Secret Garden” by Frances Hodgson Burnett, and “The Graveyard Book” by Neil Gaiman.

    • I will be adding these to my ever growing list…I never know what I might come home with when I go to our teeny tiny library. It’s part of the excitment!

Leave a Reply

