Xel-Ha

In 2008 we took a little vacation south of the border…and landed in Playa del Carmen, Mexico.  We took up residence at the Iberostar, Quetzal all-inclusive resort located on the beautiful Playacar Beach. 

Our visit was filled with food, fun and sun…we swam, snorkeled and parasailed.  We shopped in the small town of Playa del Carmen…and enjoyed the entertainment at the infamous Carlos and Charlies. 

About 4 days into our little getaway we decided to spend the day at Xel Ha. The worlds largest aquarium…if you have ever gazed into a saltwater aquarium and wondered what it would be like…or if you have ever seen the Don Knots movie, The Incredible Mr. Limpet and thought “I wish I were a Fish”,  then Xel Ha can make that dream come true.

Xel Ha is a natural park composed of a group of inlets, lagoons, cenotes and caves.  A low deciduous forest and water system that is a mix of the salty waters from the Caribbean Sea  and fresh water from springs from underground rivers from the Yucatan Peninsula. Xel Ha’s rainforest is home to over 100 species of birds and over 230 varieties of plants, flowers and trees.  It’s lagoon is home to more than 90 marine species.

Xel Ha offers a wide variety of water related activities.  We floated through the mangrove forest…we did a little cave diving…we snorkeled…we hung out in the greatest hammocks ever made…and we swam with the fish!!!  It was like swimming in a giant aquarium with Mr. Limpet.

18 Comments

Filed under Blogging Challenges, Blogging from A-Z April Blogging Challenge, Travel, Weekend Getaways and Vacation Spots

18 responses to “Xel-Ha

  1. Sure very interesting! Thanks for the sharing

  2. What a clear and pure water. It must be really fun.

  3. What a perfect X! Thank you for sharing.

    • I asked my family to help me come up with an appropriate post for the letter “X”. It didn’t take my husband and son long to come up with the suggestion…

  4. Danny Terrill

    It is pronounced “Shell Ha” by the locals. It is an all inclusive food and drink park.

  5. Looks so beautifully perfect!

  6. sharkbytes

    What a beautiful place! I’m trying to visit all the A-Z Challenge Blogs in April. My alphabet is at myqualityday.blogspot.com

  7. I want to go! I want to go! Will you pack me in your bag next time you do? I promise to lose enough weight to keep you from paying an extra fee for overweight luggage! You had exactly my kind of holiday! Right now, I would give anything to float along on a raft or inner tube and see the fish and photograph the birds!

    Wonderful inspiring post – it inspired me to want to go. . .!

  8. Xel-Ha has the greatest blue waters, doesn’t it? Thanks for sharing because I haven’t been to Mexico in years.

Leave a Reply

