Daily Archives: May 5, 2012

Ooh La La…Savory and Sweet!

A locally owned creperie…in a town known for it’s BBQ and it’s Bakery…is a welcome surprise!

I have found a new eatery…a local fast casual eatery…the owner, Amber Stouffer is also the Chef!  A definite plus in my foodie book.

Ooh la la appeals to a variety of people; Moms with Toddlers in tow, Business Men and
Women, Young Couples, Singles and College Students.  The cafe is filled with a hum of conversations, scattered laughter and delicious aromas. 

This local eatery offers a relaxed cafe atmosphere with counter service and the crepes are made to order in full view of the customers.  Also a bonus in my foodie book…

The  menu offerings range from the expected crepes; savory and sweet, croissants, sorbet, creme glacee, gelato and a variety of  hot and cold coffee drinks. 

As I entered I was greeted by the chef making crepes…the gal at the counter was quick to offer assistance…and it wasn’t long before my crepe of prosciutto and mozzarella with tomato, olive oil and herb de provence was sitting on the table in front of me.

The music on tap is classic rock…It’s tuned to just the right volume so you can enjoy your  conversation with a friend or even read a book if you are dining alone.

On my most recent visit I ordered, Aigre-Douce, a sweet confectionary crepe concoction of lemon, butter and sugar. Ooh la la…perfection!

 

My visits have been on Friday…I usually eat lunch around 1pm…even at what would be considered past the lunch rush…there were a steady stream of customers. The tables are cleared  quickly and efficiently so as to turn the small number of tables.

On my visits I have enjoyed the savory crepes; Boeuf Douce and Celeste …but I have to admit I am a much bigger fan of the sweeter side.

Support your community…Eat Local!

Ooh La La Crepes is located in Alvin, Texas. Check out Ooh La La Crepes on Facebook. 

  • Crêpes! (savoryhackers.wordpress.com)

7 Comments

Filed under All Things Foodie, My Local Recommendations