I Plead the Fifth…

I would like to plead the fifth when someone asks me what I do for a living…It’s not that I don’t like what I do, as a matter of fact I love my work. It is my dream job! However, when the dreaded question is asked…my answer never seems to encompass the importance of what I do. Usually when I give a short answer like, I work for the church”, people get this strange look on their face and the conversation ends with a “OH, that’s nice”.

I am not trying to embellish what I do but I would like for people to know what I do makes a difference in people’s lives and sometimes that is hard to communicate…

I am the Director of the Welcome Ministry, a ministry of first impressions for New Hope Church. I am the book and gift buyer for the New Hope Bookstore. I oversee 6 volunteer ministries that include the Bookstore,Cafe, Connect, Greeter, Usher and Information volunteers. These teams consist of over 400 volunteers who serve on a bi-weekly rotation. My job also encompasses special projects that take place in the church lobby and auditorium.

The Ministry of First Impressions is made up of hundreds of tiny little details that work hand in hand to make a great first and ย lasting impression on a visitor or a regular attendee. We greet people with a warm smile and an encouraging word. We provide a tour of the campus to help people feel like family instead of a visitor or intruder. We offer them a hot cup of coffee and a pastry on the house. We make sure they have a listening guide so they can follow along with the announcements and the lesson. We help them find a comfortable seat. We provide a wide variety of bibles, books and gifts that will help them with their spiritual walk. And the experts tell us that we only have 7 minutes to make a great first impression. No pressure. Right?!

When we get it right, people feel like that have found a place where they belong and are among friends and family. When we get it right people find a place of peace where there is hope and encouragement in difficult times. When we get it right people’s hearts are ready to hear a Word from God and that can be life changing…

So you see pleading the fifth is not really an option…I just would like to find a way to express what I do in a way that leaves people thinking, WOW! instead of “oh”…

8 Comments

Filed under Faith, Leadership

8 responses to “I Plead the Fifth…

  1. Maybe say you’re the Director for the Welcome Ministry for the church? That still doesn’t tell exactly what you do, but if you told me that, I would ask you what the Welcome Ministry is about.
    A complex job like yours takes a little more than just a sentence to explain to people. What a wonderful job to have.

  2. I understood you completely! ๐Ÿ™‚ You did a great job explaining the many complex aspects of the ministry.

  3. I also want to say”WOW” great work and job you have. I want to wish you a joyful festive season. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. There is a lot to that job. WOW! Thanks for taking the time to explain it all here.

  5. That is the best job description I’ve ever read! I especially like the pride and confidence with which you spoke. Your job is mightily important. You provide a service that is so very lacking in today’s all-too busy society. Customer service and care is number one on my priority list of “Most Desirable Things.”

    Congrats, Jean…for all you do!!! And I’m sure God blesses you…as you go about His work. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Maybe your short answer could be: “Through the Welcome Ministry, I do my best to make a difference in people’s lives.”

  7. I just would like to find a way to express what I do in a way that leaves people thinking, “WOW! instead of โ€œohโ€โ€ฆ” I think you just did!

    Wonderful description obviously written with a lot of thought ๐Ÿ™‚

    You make a difference and then some!

    MJ

Leave a Reply

