Speak Life…

Be a lamp

When is the last time you stopped to consider the words you speak?  I think about it quite often.  I have witnessed the power of the spoken word and how it can lift someones spirit or tear them down. I have seen  the crushing blow of a parents angry words to a child over a missed pitch in a baseball game.  I have seen a beautiful vibrant woman turned into a sad shell of herself due to the constant insults leveled at her by her husband.  I have also witnessed a husband lose his sense of self-worth because his hard work goes unnoticed by his family.   Then on the other hand,  I have seen tears replaced with laughter, desperation replaced with hope.  I have seen anger replaced with peace,  rejection replaced with acceptance.  I have seen a lost soul find their purpose.  All because of the spoken word.

This week one of my young volunteers lost his life in a horrific accident.  As you can imagine the family and everyone who knew him are devastated.  When the Pastor met with the family the grandmother recounted a story of how one particular person had spoken words of encouragement to this young man while he was volunteering and the incredibly positive affect it had on him. “Her words lifted his spirit!”

Every conversation and interaction we have is an opportunity to speak hope  into someone’s life. Recently, Toby Mac released a new CD, Eye On It.  There is one particular song that I listen to almost everyday on my to work…Speak Life.  The lyrics remind me that I have the power to speak hope, love and life into someone’s world…

“It’s Crazy to imaging that the words from our lips as the arms of compassion. Mountains crumble with every syllable. Hope can live or die. So speak life. Look into the eyes of the brokenhearted. watch them come alive as soon as you speak love, speak hope, speak life.”

What will you do with your words today…tear someone down or Speak Life?

Related Posts

You, Yourself…

Number our days

Seeking Refuge

Say Good Things 

Living to Live for 2013

5 Comments

Filed under encouragment, Faith, Leadership

5 responses to “Speak Life…

  1. Great post! I have been on both ends and words are so important! I try to always choose my words wisely.

  2. thank you for sharing this song. 🙂

  3. So sorry for the loss of your young friend. What you say is so true – both our words and even our thoughts have so much power! Something to remember all the time. Hugs!

    • Thanks Carla….I should have also added that the lack of words can be just as devastating to someone…withholding words of love and encouragement have a lasting impact as well.

Leave a Reply

