It’s All In The Title…


Royal_family_on_the_balcony

I am as enamored with the life of the Royals as the next person…I watched the wedding of Prince Charles and Lady Di and I watched the wedding of Prince William and Kate Middleton.

However, I know little of the Royal family and their titles.  I get King and Queen, even Prince and Princess but after that…Who curtsey’s too whom?

The Queen of England has decreed that if  the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge, Prince William and Kate, have a daughter she will be called Princess and not Lady…Read more here

I guess I was a little surprised when Prince William’s title changed from Prince to Duke after he married Kate.  So now I am wondering who curtseys’ to whom?

Does that mean that Kate will have to curtsy to her own children? As you can see from the list Prince and Princess carry a bit more weight than Duke and Duchess..

– King and Queen
– Royal Dukes
– Princes and Princesses
– Duke and Duchess
– Marquess and Marchioness
– Earl / Count and Countess
– Viscount and Viscountess
– Baron and Baroness
– Baronet and Baronetess
– Knight and Dame
– Honourary styles – Lord, Lady, Honourable

If you could choose a royal title of your own what would it be?  I think I would like to be called..Queen NOLA, Duchess of DIY,  Baroness of Blogging, Lady in waiting to be Freshly Pressed.

2 Comments

Filed under It's a Girl Thing

2 responses to “It’s All In The Title…

  1. This is interesting to me. I never knew this list exsisted. I would want to be called Duchess of Snow.

  2. His title didn’t change, as he is still HRH Prince William of Wales but after his wedding, The Queen gave him a Dukedom — Duke and Duchess of Cambridge… which is like giving someone a … town and a % of their earnings. Each of the Royal offspring has other titles and each one = $$, mostly.

    Growing up Canadian, I still follow this stuff and it’s fun to see the fascination in America – a country that kicked out British rule all those years ago.

    I’d definitely want the highest grossing title == Queen of Everything! 🙂

    fun post
    MJ

Leave a Reply

