Embracing Change…and a new blog layout!

Here in Southeast Texas Spring is in the air …some would call it early spring or false spring…none the less, it feels like spring.  The Low temperatures are in the mid 50’s and the High temps are in the 70’s.  The birds are flocking in from wintering in Mexico.  The wild dandelions, clover, azalea, thyme, parsley and mint are the first to arrive in the flowerbeds.  The vegetable garden has been tilled and made ready for the first planting of the year.  All of the brightly colored Christmas decorations have been replaced by a softer palette of pinks and greens…Even the air has changed, its smells fresh and clean!  Change is inevitable…

DSC00617

Some people I know have a hard time with change.  They are more comfortable with the status quo…I am cut from a different cloth.  I embrace change.  I look forward to the changing seasons and discovering new things. I like to mix things up from time to time….That is why my blog looks different today.  Change is a good thing…

March marks my 3 year blogging anniversary…I have changed my blog layout each year.  Changing the look of my blog is part of who I am as a blogger.  Change is an essential part of what I do for a living… I am always looking for ways to make changes that keep people engaged.  When things stay the same for too long they become comfortable and things seem to fade into the background.  Change is gonna come…

DSC00618

For instance, while visiting my parents, my sister and I, rearranged their living room.  We moved the furniture, changed  out the accent pillows and the wall hangings.  The room took on a much warmer and inviting feel…After the re-do…My parents had my Aunt and Uncle over for dinner and they commented on the “new” display cabinet…It had been in that room for 5 years…Change can improve your outlook…

I have been searching for my new blog layout…I love the look of  le zoe musings, Channeling Contessa,  and Just a Smidgen’s blogs…charming, comfortable, inviting…All the things that people say about my home when they visit…so why not incorporate that into my blog..A blog is a reflection of who we are or who we aspire to be…The blogs I mentioned all have custom designed layouts, at least from what I can tell.  However, because I like change and more than likely this won’t be the last time I change my layout I would rather use a free one from WordPress.  Embrace Change…

DSC00613

I have chosen the free WordPress layout “Pilcrow”.  The layout is similar to the ones I mentioned and that I find most inviting…and it looks really good over at Meg Writes.

14 Comments

Filed under Random Thoughts

14 responses to “Embracing Change…and a new blog layout!

  1. I like the new look. I love change…I usually have to keep myself from changing too many things in my life…like my job, my husband, etc. 😉

  2. Like the new layout. Spring seems to be breaking out all over 🙂

  3. I love the new layout Jeanne, it’s clean and crisp, and makes me feel that Spring has sprung!
    You are right about change – sometimes we see things have always been there, but we never noticed before – like the display cabinet in your parents’ room!

    • Thanks Barb, I am happy to have my little girls gracing the blog header once again. Although it feels and looks like spring is here I am sure old mother nature has a few more wintry surprised in store for us…I am not putting away the blankets just yet.

  4. We are traveling the same path today:D I’ve just changed my blog and added a header and changed colors of the font. It is just as though spring is in the air. And would you also believe.. I moved all of my living room furniture around into a new arrangement. We must have the same spring in our steps and hearts. Thanks so much for your kind words.. I love your new look, Jeanne! xx

  5. Love the new look 🙂 D 34

  6. I was thinking the same thing today…that it is time for a change for my blog. I have had it for one year and it feels right. Now where does a person find this time when she works fulltime outside the home? Thank you for the enouraging words on change.

    • I took my time, made note of the blogs whose layouts I liked and what I liked about them…then I searched the free layouts that wordpress offers and tried a few to see how they looked with my content plugged in, eventually I narrowed it down to the one…

  7. Yep, change is good. Like the new layout 🙂

  8. I like the new look. Change can be exciting, for sure. I like the simple, clean look in a blog (but I’ve vowed to change my header picture every month so it doesn’t always look the same :))

  9. I like the idea of the monthly header change…great idea!

Leave a Reply

