Looking For a New Home…

This weeks photo challenge is Home…Earlier this week, I needed to arrive at work earlier than usual. I was up at 5:45am and out the door before 8:00am. As I turned the corner on our street..I saw something in the middle of the road. It was a kitten, but as I got closer to her she did not try to get out of the road…I pulled off into the grass. I opened my door and called to her…she was breathing hard… she sat up but she could not walk.

Did I mention that the vultures were lined up on the side of the road….waiting…

There is no way I could leave her there to die like that….I scooped her up and put her in the trunk of my car and went back home. I retrieved a box and a blanket from the garage. I placed the little one in the box, but I left her in the trunk because I didn’t know how she would react to riding in the car.

I began calling local vet clinics and asking about dropping her off…Remember I was trying to get to work early this morning…I wasn’t getting a good feeling from the places I called. So, I decided to drive 25 minutes out of my way to the vet clinic that friends own and manage, Claws and Paws . I am so glad I did…when I carried her in they jumped into action…They took her and assessed her injuries…Almost instantly they determined that she had a broken leg and or pelvis. The next step was x-rays to determine if she had internal injuries.

We are not in a position to adopt the kitten…so I signed her over to the vet clinic. I thought that would be the last I heard of her. That was not to be the case…my friends at the clinic have been keeping me posted as to her progress. She is doing much better…eating…and being a diva that only a cat knows how to be. .This little one is looking for a new home…I have shared her information and picture on my Facebook page and I think her chances of finding her forever home are looking good!

20130208-193030.jpg

Needless to say I did not arrive at work early…however, it’s important to remember that sometimes the best plans are not the ones we make.

15 Comments

Filed under Blogging Challenges

15 responses to “Looking For a New Home…

  1. Someone put you in her path. He knew you’d stop.
    MJ

  2. I love stories that turn out well and I’m sure that this kitten will find a good home and bring a lucky family years of joy.

  3. So glad that you stopped to give her a chance at a new home. Thanks, Jeanne.

  4. Looks like an orange tabby? My older son loves orange tabbies (we have one). Good thing he didn’t see this, because we can’t have any more pets (I think 6 is already too many!) I’m glad you stopped to help her – she’s adorable and should have no problem finding her forever home.

  5. You are such a good person. I’ve lost two that way and would’ve been so appreciative if someone would have stopped.

  6. I’m so happy for the kitty, thanks to you. I adopted a kitten once I found on the street too, much younger than that, I dropper fed her with milk and took care of her the best way I knew how but she did not survive, I don’t know why but I’m feeling guilty until now 😦

Leave a Reply

