Word a Week Challenge: Gardens

This blog was inspired by A Word a Week Photography Challenge.

Here is a tour of the gardens that have crossed my path…As I have wandered through each one my worries and burdens have been carried away as if on the wings of a butterfly.  Spending time in a garden, whether it is filled with flowers or vegetables, is one of the most peaceful places on this earth.

This is where it all started…with my parents love for a beautiful garden and my Dad’s very green thumb.

July 4th 2007 006

A garden from a previous home…very tropical!

105

Our current front garden filled with traditional southern heritage plants; plumbago, day lilies, rosemary, roses, azalea and camelias.

The Garden

Last years vegetable garden that produced so much, we ate all we could and shared the rest.

039

Here is a community garden, where members of the neighborhood adopt a parcel of land.  They can grow whatever they desire.  It is a mix of flowers and vegetables.

Frobergs 008

This is a much bigger garden that many visit during strawberry season.  Here at Froberg’s you pay for what you pick…the kiddos love it!

I love spending time in the garden, especially when it is full of color and good things to eat!

7 Comments

Filed under 2013 Photo Journal, Nature, Weekly Photo Challenge

7 responses to “Word a Week Challenge: Gardens

  1. I love the photo of your parent’s garden. We have an area like that on the left side in your photo that has grown bare over the winter. I was thinking of what to plant, and I love this green look.

  2. Oh just look at all that greenness — here in MI, where everything is white and frosty and grey today .. that green looks so fresh & inviting 🙂

    MJ

  3. I can’t wait until we have gardens growing again around here.. I just love that time of year!

  4. so gorgeous and your growing season is so much longer than ours!

  5. I love the photo of your dad’s garden.

Leave a Reply

