Hello Mornings!

I am neither a self-professed early riser or a night owl.  I enjoy the peacefulness that either time of the day offers.  How can I choose between the beauty of a golden sunrise or a majestic purple sunset?  One offers me an opportunity to rejoice with the coming of the new day.  While the other gives me time to reflect and be thankful for all that the day was.

There is something to be said about starting the day off in the presence of the Lord…Jesus started his day off by meeting with the Lord and therefore set an example for how our day should begin.

I am embarking on a journey this summer.  A journey that will begin at dawn each day.  Each morning will begin with prayer, include a devotional reading and finish up with a time of quiet and stillness.

I am feeling most challenged by the commitment to the time of quiet and stillness…typically when my feet hit the floor my mind is racing…making my own plan for the day, week, month…rarely checking in with the Lord to see what His plan is for my day.

I have found that it’s easier for me to stay focused when I have a plan in place.  Otherwise, I find myself distracted and rambling. I have been known to chase a squirrel or two…  I have found the simple ACTS prayer model works for me…This also follows the pattern of the Lords prayer…

  • Adoration: proclaiming who God is and the attributes of HIS character
  • Confession: personal cleansing, repentance, putting on Christs nature
  • Thanksgiving: praise offering, meditation
  • Supplication: asking, intercession and petitioning according to God’s will

I have created a place that I hope will become my thin place, where heaven meets earth (check out the explanation at 6:00 minutes) …my meeting place with the Lord…If you would like to join the summer session of Hello Mornings click here to find a group.

I am looking forward to developing a great new habit of rising early and meeting with the Lord.  This could be the best summer of my life! Let the journey begin…

photo (68)

2 Comments

Filed under encouragment, Faith, Spiritual Growth

2 responses to “Hello Mornings!

  1. I wish you success on your quest, morning reflection has always been something I wish I could excel at but never seem to be able to do for an extended period of time. Lately, I have been a night owl and reflection seems to be best in the mid afternoon. Please keep us updated on how your summer is going.
    GBU

Leave a Reply

