Looking for a Good Read…

book quote

Every January, with great intentions, I begin compiling a list of books that I hope to read before the year is out.  I usually take a quick survey of my Facebook friends  to see what books are in their backpack, I scan the New York Times best sellers list, and check out any number of articles that show up in my inbox that have the word book in the title. I also check out Goodreads and see whats happening over there….

This was my first pass at compiling a list, a blend of recommendations and best sellers…

A Glass of Blessings by Barbara Pym
The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt
The Wedding Dress by Rachel Hauck
The Longest Ride by Nicholas Sparks

Today I read an article on BuzzFeed, 16 Books to Read Before they hit theaters this year...The list has something for everyone, whether you choose to read the book or wait for the movie…thrillers,  a treasure hunt, love stories, vampires, a YA dystopian novel and  a couple of memoirs.

And my list of hopeful good reads grows…

Labor Day by Joyce Maynard 
The Monuments Men by Robert M Edsel
A Long Way Down by Nick Hornby 
Divergent by Veronica Roth
The Hundred-Foot Journey by Richard C. Morais
The Giver by Lois Lowry
This is Where I Leave You by Jonathon Tropper
Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand 
Wild by Cheryl Strayed

More books for the reading list….

I’m looking forward to my next visit to the local book seller, ie Barnes and Noble, to spend a couple of hours lost in the racks, hot tazo tea in hand searching for my first read of the new year…

Do you have a good read for my list?

Fill your house with stacks of books in all the crannies and all the nooks…Dr. Suess

In the case of good books, the point is not to see how many of them you can get through, but how many can get through to you.  Mortimer Adler 

image via Pinterest

6 Comments

Filed under Good Reads

6 responses to “Looking for a Good Read…

  1. Thanks for what looks like a great list of books! I have a bunch to read, but I’m always looking. I just got From the Kitchen of Half Truth by Maria Goodin, and also Blue Highways by William Least Heat-Moon. The last one I read was Love With a Chance of Drowning by Torre Deroche that I loved.
    Happy reading.

  2. Just finished “The Orphan Train” and really enjoyed it. I’m off to the book store myself 🙂 A local store buys back books (I have a bag full) and gives more $$ back if you take it in store credit; they also sell used books. Yippee Skippee. 🙂 MJ

    • Thanks for the recommendation…I buy used books from yard sales and flea markets…I should try selling some to the local bargain book store…this could be a new trend for me in 2014. Have a great day at the bookstore.

  3. Nothing revs me up like someone asking for reading recommendations. ‘cracks fingers’ Let’s see, from 2013 – Kate Atkinson, Life After Life, Matt Haig, The Humans, Ann Leary, The Good House.

Leave a Reply

