Fresh Linens…

Previously I mentioned a list of projects I am planning to tackle in an effort to eliminate some of the clutter in my life.  Today I tackled my out of control linen closet.  It had gotten so bad that I was avoiding putting anything away that belonged in there.

Even though almost no one sees it…I try to keep my linen closet organized.  It gives me a sense of accomplishment and control over the little things in my life. This however is a far cry from organized, this is CHAOS.

My Aunt would be so disappointed if she saw this…

20160103_123843.jpg

When I was growing up I had an Aunt that took great pride in her linen closet. All of her linens were perfectly folded and organized by color. I think she may have even starched and ironed them…it was and is to this day the prettiest linen closet I have ever seen. It’s something that I have always tried to do but I have never even come close to having the perfectly appointed linen closet.

One of the simple pleasures of life is the smell of cotton sheets dried on a clothes line, I think they smell like spring time. As much as I love that smell, I don’t particularly like the way the sheets feel when they are air dried.  But I won’t be hanging my sheets out to dry on an old fashioned clothes line anytime soon. I’ll just have to get that fresh linen scent from my detergent and fabric softener.

20160103_152635.jpgAhhh, that’s so much better…

Another of life’s simple pleasures is opening up a well organized linen closet,  selecting the perfect set of linens and making up the bed, layering it with blankets, a down comforter and cool clean fresh smelling sheets. Finally the moment comes at the end of the day when you get to experience the feel of slipping into bed between freshly laundered sheets. It is one of the most luxurious feelings a person can experience for free.

Finally, while organizing the linen closet I was able to scratch two things off of my clutter free project list; organizing the linen closet resulted in a bag full of sheet sets and blankets that will find a new home.

 

 

 

.

 

.

 

.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2016, Home Sweet Home

Leave a Reply

