Speed of the leader…

20160413_113933If there is one life lesson I have learned…it would be “speed of the leader, speed of the team“.  I learned this from a wise man who leads by example, living his life striving for excellence. He is a quiet leader, practicing what he preaches. But, not all leaders live or act in a way that makes a positive impact on their team…Sometimes a team is made up of more than one type of leader.

I have worked for individuals who found fault at every turn.  There was never room at the table for an exchange of ideas. There was never room in the conversation for constructive criticism.  And there was absolutely never room for encouragement. Their leadership style is dictatorial.

I have worked with individuals who  looked for opportunities to share wisdom and encourage team members.   They were open to new ideas. They offered constructive criticism looking at each situation from all points of view.  They always offered encouragement. Their leadership style was that of a teacher. DSC04761

Who do you think I learned more from, the person I worked for or the person I worked with… I learned from both. The critical leader bullied his team into producing results. The encouraging leader recognized team weaknesses and took the time to teach new skills which produced results.  Both leaders achieved results…both made an impact on my life.

I am still learning…I recently left a job where I hired and raised up a team of leaders. I was the same type of leader with each of the individuals on my team. Most of my team members became leaders who lead with compassion, enthusiasm and encouragement. The members of their teams produced incredible results week in and week out.  Their team members are thriving and productive. Speed of the leader…speed of the team.

However, not all of them responded in kind to my leadership style. One in particular turned out to be the polar opposite of me; always critical, accusatory and rarely encouraging. This leader is struggling to maintain an effective team. Speed of the leader…speed of the team.

DSC04819I do not take credit or responsibility for the type of leaders the people I hired have become..We are all products of our environment….we are each responsible for the choices we make and what we do with those decisions. We become who we choose to become…

I choose to be a leader who leads with enthusiasm, compassion and encouragement.  I will help my team achieve their goals and dreams. In turn I will achieve my dreams and goals.  I will be able to look people in the eye knowing I have done my very best for everyone involved.  I will be able to lay my head down on my pillow at night without a single regret.

Speed of the leader…

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 2014 52 Week Photo Challenge, 2016, Leadership, Life

Leave a Reply

