Hand me downs…

If you are anything like me you know something about hand me downs…hand me down clothes, shoes and cars. Maybe you have been the recipient of hand me down furniture. 

For some reason the phrase “hand ne down” carries the stigma of being less than…

However, when I think of ” hand me downs” I think of the flowes in my garden that my Dad handed down to me. I think of family recipes, especially the recipes I make for the holidays.  

Tonight while I was making one of those hand me down holiday recipes my husband took a close up picture of me scooping the candy onto the wax paper. And that’s when I knew I had received the ultimate hand me down…My Mother’s hands.  

My hands look just like my mom’s. They are small but not too small. They are strong but not as strong as they use to be.  They are showing signs of aging but they can still take care of the people they love. 

 As it is with all things in life…your perception of life’s hand me downs will determine your over all outlook on life. 

Embrace the hand me downs in your life.

Leave a comment

Filed under family, Life, Snapshots of Life

Leave a Reply

