Starting Fresh…

On this first day after Christmas my thoughts are focused on the new year and what I can accomplish personally and professionally.  The list includes getting fit, getting organized, read more books, traveling, entertaining and expanding my fledgling vintage resale business.

My list isn’t anything unusual.  It looks a lot like my list from last year. However, I am looking for inspiration from wherever I can find it.

Although everything on my list can and will happen simultaneously throughout the new year…something has to kick things off and set the stage for the coming year.

First things first…I will start with jumping on the fitness band wagon…I am not unfit but since the holidays rolled around I’ve been fittin’ way too many treats in to my diet. Also, let me just put this out there… I can always find something else to do instead of  working out.  However, there is a Caribbean vacation booked for later in the year and there is nothing like the thought of wearing a bathing suit in public to scare a girl into putting in some time on the treadmill.  I won’t bore you with the details of my eating habits or exercise routine…there are enough posts about that on the internet without me adding to it.  But if you are looking for someone to motivate you or an online bootcamp or an online fitness group check out On The Geaux Fitness

exercise-motivational

The second thing on my list is to get organized…clearing out all of the clutter in my life.  Let me be honest…I lack organizational skills.  I am easily distracted when a task takes too long or requires thinking outside of the box. I have separation anxiety when it comes to letting go of all of my good stuff.   Therefore, I am looking for help in that area and I think I may have found a declutter challenge that will keep me focused. But in the meantime I will start working on this list I found...60 things to toss out in 60 days!

declutter

Check out this great read at the Happy Turtle Blog

Third on my list is to read more…I love to read!  I am one of those people who have the ability to disappear into a book.  I think it’s my super power.  Pinterest is a great place to gather reading recommendations.  Two years ago my reading list was made up of books that were being made into movies.  Last year my list was filled with books whose story lines were based in the Mediterranean…This year is still up in the air…but this looks like a good place to start.

Here are a few of my previous reads…the only one in the stack that I haven’t read is “The Dovekeepers” by Alice Hoffman.  Maybe I’ll start that one tonight.

wpid-wp-1445608960475.jpg

Also, my sister has published her first book…check out Guarded the first book in The Enforcer Series…

I’ll cover the last two on my list in due time…entertaining and my fledgling business.  It’s quite possible that they may go hand in hand.  Only time will tell…

So, what are your plans for the New Year?

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

