Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall

This weeks WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge is Fall

The first signs that Fall has arrived in Southeast Texas are not the cooler temperatures or the leaves falling from the trees.  Our first sign that Fall has arrived are the enormous bins of pumpkins that appear overnight at the local grocer or produce stand. 

Muskee de Provence

These particular pumpkins are referred to as Cinderella Pumpkins.  They come in a variety of colors; the orange and green shown here, light blue and green as well as striped.  Pumpkins with this shape are also known as heirloom pumpkins and are wonderful addition to a fall harvest display(shameless foreshadowing).

“I would rather sit on a pumpkin and have it all to myself, than be crowded on a velvet cushion” Henry David Thoreau

Related Posts:

Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall (Fenland Photos)
Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall (Flickr comments by Fizztext)
Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall ( Incredible Lightness of Seeing
Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall (busyellebee.wordpress.com)
Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall (Spirit Lights the Way)
Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall (Walk a Mile in my Shoes)

33 Comments

Filed under Life in Texas, Nature, postaweek2011, Weekly Photo Challenge

33 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall

  1. Pumpkin soup or pie anyone? hehe 🙂

  2. I like this!
    I am holding off on my fall photo. There is a tree that is magnificent in the fall and I have been waiting a whole year to photograph it.

  3. I wonder if these pumpkins came from Michigan? This year we’re shipping our pumpkin crop far and wide to make up for the shortages in other places caused by Hurricaine Irene and other bad weather.

  4. This reminds me of the pumpkin festival in Half Moon Bay. So beautiful. The orange colors always brings a mix of fun, happiness, of sweet dreams ahead. Thanks.

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Theme ~ Fall « Spirit Lights The Way

  6. Thoreau had the right idea:

    “I would rather sit on a pumpkin and have it all to myself, than be crowded on a velvet cushion” Henry David Thoreau

    Here’s to pumpkins a plenty.

  7. wordsfallfrommyeyes

    That’s a great quote by Henry David Thoreau!! Never heard that before. Lovely photo, can almost smell the pumpkins.

  8. I agree with Nancy and I love pumpkin eating season!

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Fall: | melonpopzdropz …

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall II « The Incredible Lightness of Seeing

  11. large pumpkins indeed – we make a soup out of pumpkins …

  12. I love the pumpkins with the green coloring, and I have to wonder if there might be a glass slipper inside one of the Cinderella Pumpkins 🙂

  13. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall | melonpopzdropz …

  14. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall | Maggies Photography

  15. I agree – pumpkins are a great sign of Fall. The Cinderella pumpkins are one of my favorites because they have such a pretty shape.

    If it weren’t for the pumpkins and Halloween, I would probably miss Fall here 🙂

  16. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall | this man's journey

  17. Cinderella pumpkins, so beautiful in both shape and colors. reminded my of the magical carriage that brought Cinderella to the ball.

  18. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall | Inspired Vision

  19. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall_2 « aRVee's blog

  20. The pumpkins look so succulent! 🙂

  21. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall | Huffygirl's Blog

  22. Fall is my second favortie season, with winter being my first. I live in WI where we can enjoy four seasons and the beautiful colors of fall are just starting.

    I noticed that you subscribed to my blog, thank you! I am very interested in reading more of yours. How did you find me?

  23. Pingback: Fall-ing in Love – Weekly Photo Challenge (Fall) « aNTibaKTeRiYeL

Leave a Reply

